The American Physical Society

W. W. HAVENS, JR. EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

J. A. BURTON, TREASURER

335 EAST 45th STREET NEW YORK, N. Y. 10017 (212) 685-9422

19 November 1976

I recommended Burdy

F. Bundy

H.T. Hall

H. Strong

R. Wentorf, Jr.

Gentlemen:

Although the 1977 APS Prize for New Materials sponsored by the IBM Corporation has not yet been awarded it's time to make arrangements for the appointment for the committee to choose the winner of the 1978 New Materials Prize. The usual composition of APS Prize committees is a chairman, who has been a member of the previous year's prize committee, the most recent winner of the prize, two members who are nominated by the Division of Solid State Physics and appointed by the President and one member to be appointed independently by the President. I'm delighted to say that Al Narath has agreed to be chairman of the 1978 materials prize committee.

The problem on which I seek your advice and recommendation is the member of the committee designated as the most recent winner of the prize. Since the 1977 prize will be shared by the four of you, I would appreciate it if you would recommend one member of the group to be a member of the committee to represent the 1977 prize winners. I would appreciate it if you could send me the name of the individual who will represent the prize winner no later than 8 December, since we are trying to have all information on APS committees for 1977 approved at the meeting of the Executive Committee on 11 December 1976.

Sincerely yours,

Wastaver fr

W.W. Havens, Jr.

WWH: dw

cc: G.E. Pake
A. Narath